26
Jul
08

Blame it on my environment

Isn’t the Internets fun? A while back I learned that if I were a Sesame Street character, I’d be Bert! Sweet, lovable, anal-retentive Bert. He’s such a barrel of fun. In fact, I think the barrel is halfway up his little puppet butt. Well, I’m over it. Where would the world be without Bert?

I ran across another fun little Internets quiz, courtesy of Humble Origins and learned that if I were a hand gesture, I’d be this:


You Are a Fist


Your life philosophy can be summed up as, “Life fast. Die young.”  

Your greatest wish is to have a life of passion and excitement. 

And while you don’t want to die young, you rather take risks than stay home and be afraid.

You are inspired and inspiring. You live each day like it’s your last.

 

 

 

I don’t know, Internets, I’m not sure Bert and the fist go together like peanut butter and jelly, but I can’t argue with a super-fun quiz, can I?

What I can do is blame my environment, where this ubiquitous symbol confronts all visitors and guests and has been a guiding force in our city politics:

Purty, ain’t it? What with all the hoopla surrounding our mayor, Mr. Kwame Kilpatrick, I’m sure work is under way to sculpt a companion piece: The Middle Finger. Can’t wait.

5 Responses to “Blame it on my environment”


  1. July 28, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    Momzombie, I need to cruise over and see what hand gesture that I am. Nice little piece of artwork there. That’s a large hand. You know, the world is getting crazy. I had a little old lady of about 80 years old shoot me the bird the other day. I didn’t shoot back because she was 80. I could kind of see my future in her eyes. Well, maybe not. I must practice patience?

  2. 2 mom zombie
    July 28, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    ALJ, Thanks for being a loyal reader. The fist statue is right in the center of our downtown, it’s the pride/joke/embarrassment/ of Detroit. It’s supposed to memorialize Joe Louis the boxer, but most people think it’s symbolic of something else.

  3. July 30, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    For real that statue is for real? I thought that it was a photo shop deal. Well, it’s awesome in a way, after realizing that it’s not the ‘man’ trying to crush citizens. Oh, I love reading your blog. You’re stuck with me I’m afraid.

  4. 4 mom zombie
    July 30, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    Oh, ALJ, you need to Google Detroit City Council or Kwame Kilpatrick for some good readin’. It’s all for reals, as they say.

    –MomZombie

  5. August 6, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    That thing looks like it’s on an ant-crushing mission. It says THREATHENING in big, bold letters.

    I thought maybe it was about auto unions, because Detroit? but what do I know.

    For a laugh, take a look at the sculpture of the hands (this is one of my old posts, and you’ll have to scroll to the bottom to see them).

    http://foolery.typepad.com/foolery/2007/10/please-help-me-.html

    The hands are a sculpture in the town I work in and went to college in, Chico, and they are a constant source of amusement and embarrassment (they cost a lot for something amusing and embarrassing).

    Sorry — didn’t mean to hijack your post! Have a good day, MZ,

    Foolery


Leave a Reply

