24
Jul
08

Still pretty in pink?

***Post edited on July 24 to include photos****

Last night I stayed up really late to watch the reissued version of “Pretty in Pink,” the ’80s classic featuring teen icon Molly Ringwald.
Two things:
First, I miss John Hughes movies like I miss my youth — his movies were pretty true to the times without being overly cynical or sappy. I love the characters, the soundtracks, and the milieu that seemed to mirror my life so well at the time.
Second, I realized a girl with whom I graduated high school had a bit part in the movie. How did I miss this before? In fact, despite having owned the movie soundtrack and playing the cassette to the point of unravelment, I’m wondering if I’d ever watched the movie in its entirety. (I think it was a ‘date movie.’)
Third, OK, I lied about it being two things. The ’80s need to stay in the ’80s. I think it’s great that my teen daughter wants to see all the “Brat Pack” movies of my youth. I think it’s fabulous that the storylines are timeless. But those fashions need to stay in the vault. Girl from the West came back from her month in Europe with a suitcase and boxes packed with ’80s fashions and a interest in Molly Ringwald movies. She is obsessed with all things ’80s. The big belts, big shirts, big glasses, tiny little boots and the ginourmous earrings.
Her wardrobe is a mirror of mine 20 years ago minus the REALLY BIG HAIR. Yeah, at least that hasn’t come back yet. What did we do to our hair in the ’80s? Look what I did to mine:

This is me, now, no longer inhaling perm solution:

After the movie ended I couldn’t sleep. I felt a pang of sadness about the past. Had more than 20 years passed since that movie came out? I think the last time I was in Kohl’s I heard the Cure playing on the piped-in Muzak system.

WTF people, the Cure? In Kohl’s? That’s enough to make you want to slash your wrists right there in the hosiery department.

Finally, the reissue DVD featured interviews with the cast today. Let me tell you, none of those fresh-faced teens looked so pretty in pink anymore. Molly Ringwald least of all. I barely recognized her without her short ‘do and angular figure. She looked more like a suburban soccer mom than a Hollywood sensation. Both Andrew McCarthy and Jon Cryer just looked like typical middle-aged dudes. Biggest shock of all — John Hughes is now a semi-recluse? Refuses interviews? What is this about? Is he creating a mystique about himself or did he just fade away?
Ah, well, better to fade from shocking pink to pale purple than to take the Botox Express to Freakville.

4 Responses to “Still pretty in pink?”


  1. July 24, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    Oh no. Big hair. I did that in the late 70’s, early 80’s. My mother refuses to burn the photos. I think that I’ll watch old movies this weekend. Ever notice that in the old movies, everyone is driving around in 70’s land barge cars. (of course) But anyway, on the old gangsta movies, the guys in the suits look like losers, because of the cars. It makes them look so…..trashy, as if they’re crack dealers, even if they’re the good guys.

  2. 2 mom zombie
    July 24, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    Land Barge, that’s a good one. We called them Ghetto Cruisers here.
    I’m going to get my scanner working again so I can upload the crazy hair.
    –MomZombie

  3. August 6, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    I like your ’80s hair, MZ. In fact, I’m thinking about falling off the perm wagon and getting another perm, for old times sake and because my hair is so damned healthy now.

    WHO’S WITH ME?
    Also, I watched “Oxford Blues” with Rob Lowe and Ally Sheedy a couple of weeks ago, during a bout of Can’t-Sleep-Must-Blog-Watch-Boob-Tube. It was supremely awful, and does more to explain Europe’s anti-American sentiments than any other single thing I can think of. Yes, even him.

    I’m all for keeping MOST of the ’80s in the ’80s!

  4. 4 mom zombie
    August 6, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Sorry, can’t jump on the perm wagon with ya. In fact, the guy who does my hair flat-out won’t do perms. That’s how bad he thinks they are for hair. I would like to have my ’80s body back, though.
    –MomZombie


Leave a Reply

