17
Jan
08

Life without TV

So, the writer’s strike presses on. Not only are this season’s shows jeopordized, but now it sounds like next season could be canned as well. Award shows are all facts, minus the glitz and glamor of the red carpet. Late-night talk show hosts are forced to wing it. What’s left? Reality shows. Ugh.

Does anyone care? As a former writer and member of a writer’s guild, I sympathize with the basic concept of the striking workers. If you don’t make a united stand now against the networks, while you have the strength, you never will be able to in the future. The trade union to which I once belonged is a largely deflated balloon, having lost most of its money and its might during a crippling strike in the 1990s. I know a little about the giving of the workers and the mostly taking of the big companies. The result, an erosion in quality. Case in point here: reality TV.

Funny. In doing some research on this, I read that the last writer’s strike in 1988 lasted longer than the current one. I don’t even remember. That’s because I don’t really watch TV much. Not then. Not now.
Except “LOST”, which hasn’t aired a new show since May 2007 and if we fans are lucky, maybe a handful this year. I watch about 1-1/2 hours of reruns (“Everybody Loves Raymond,” “Sex and the City,” “Simpsons”) nightly as I exercise in my basement. It’s just what’s on and gets the best reception. Otherwise the TV is off and books are open or games are played or I’m just doing something that’s not TV. So, I don’t care much. Even about “LOST.”
Which even shocks me.

0 Responses to “Life without TV”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

